Department of Haemato-Oncology and Clinical Haematology

The department of Haemato-Oncology and Clinical Haematology offers comprehensive service for diagnosis and treatment of malignant and non-malignant disorders of blood, bone marrow and lymph nodes.

The speciality of Clinical haematology has sub-specialties organized according to the clinical needs of groups of patients and includes:

  • Haemato-oncology: Acute and chronic leukaemias, lymphoma, multiple myeloma, myeloproliferative neoplasms, myelodysplastic syndromes
  • Haemostasis/thrombosis (disorders of clotting and bleeding): Haemophilia, thrombophilia, acquired bleeding disorders
  • Disorders of blood production and destruction: Bone marrow failure, inherited and acquired; Immune thrombocytopenia, haemolytic anaemias, autoimmune blood diseases, haemoglobinopathies and nutritional anaemias
  • Transfusion medicine: Blood transfusion services.

The Department is located in level 1 of Jubilee block (O ward) and undertakes the care of most malignant and non-malignant haematological conditions. The department is an integral part of Little Flower Hospital Cancer Centre and works in partnership with the Oncology department of Prathyasa Cancer Centre, Green Gardens, Cherthala for delivery of radiotherapy under the supervision of our Oncologist. Chemotherapy administration and blood product support are held in the dedicated day area located in O ward.

In-patient care is located in O ward with provision for adequate isolation for immune compromised patients.  The department provides round the clock support and telephone advice for our patients in the community. We also offer telephone clinics to appropriate patients on oral medications in collaboration with their primary treating clinician.

Doctors - Haemato-Oncology